Movie Review #2: “Stand By Me”

Stand By Me

I watched this film for the second time after a span of many years. I don’t remember the use of so much foul language and wondered if boys back then talked like that. Maybe they did, I don’t know. Anyway, there were a lot of references to their mothers and their reputations, if you get my meaning.

I do remember some bullies and how they acted. I don’t think that has changed much. I thought Kiefer Sutherland (Ace) did an excellent job of the bully you could grow to hate. When he takes Lachance’s baseball hat (a gift from his dead brother), you felt like strangling him!

The other young actors–Wil Wheaton, River Phoenix, Corey Feldman, and Jerry O’Connell– did a good job portraying boys growing up in a small town. Phoenix’s performance as the young lad who everyone thought would grow up to be no good, in my opinion, was the best. The scene where he weeps after admitting to Lachance (Will Wheaton) that a teacher took advantage of this and betrayed him, was heartfelt. You could almost feel his pain.

If I watched this movie again, I believe I could get more from it. It presents a number of life issues that always repeat themselves.  It’s the kind of story that never gets old. Do you agree?

Leave a Reply

